WoW Cataclysm - New Races Overview


The new races have already been included with the pre-patch, and in this guide, we'll provide you with a general overview of what they bring. While you might already have a character of each class in modern WoW, or maybe that's just me, leveling takes much longer in Classic, so it's worth knowing beforehand which race and class combination you want to play. With that in mind, here are the classes you can play as a goblin and worgen in Cataclysm Classic.



Goblins are the newly introduced race for the Horde faction in Cataclysm. They come with their own starting zones: Kezan and The Lost Isles. Regardless of the class you choose, you'll begin your journey here. However, once you've progressed the story and left the area, you won't be able to return.

Capital City: Due to irreparable damage suffered by the Goblins' home city of The Undermine, located below Kezan, Goblins technically no longer have their own capital city. However, they do have Bilgewater Harbor.

History: Following a series of cataclysmic events in the Lost Isles and The Undermine, compounded by betrayal from one of their own trade princes and open hostility from members of the Alliance, the goblins of the Bilgewater Cartel come to the realization that their relations with the Horde can no longer remain neutral. Through diplomatic channels with the orcs, the goblins officially join the Horde, becoming the sixth race to pledge their allegiance to the Warchief's leadership.

Classes: Death Knight, Hunter, Mage, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, Warrior

Racial Traits:

 Best Deals Anywhere: Always receive the best possible gold discount, regardless of faction.

 Better Living Through Chemistry: Alchemy skill increased by 15.

 Pack Hobgoblin: Calls in your friend, Gobber, allowing you bank access for 1 min.

 Rocket Barrage: Launches your belt rockets at an enemy, dealing fire damage.

 Rocket Jump: Activates your rocket belt to jump forward. Other effects which slow the rate of falling cannot be used within 10 sec after using this ability.

 Time is Money: Cash in on a 1% increase to attack and casting speed.


buy nooow



The worgen race joins the Alliance in Cataclysm, and similar to the goblins, they have their own starting zone located in the Eastern Kingdoms: Gilneas, along with Gilneas City.

What sets the worgen apart particularly at the time of the original Cataclysm is their dual nature, with the ability to switch between human and worgen forms. It's important to remember to switch to their worgen form when engaging in combat.

Capital City: The Worgen share their capital city of Gilneas City with the uninfected residents of Gilneas. Nevertheless, a significant number have chosen to relocate to The Howling Oak in Darnassus.

History: The Worgen are a cursed race originating from the people of Gilneas, afflicted by an ancient druidic curse that transforms them into ferocious half-worg, half-men creatures. Despite numerous efforts to find a cure, those infected in Gilneas retain their consciousness and have pledged allegiance to the Alliance. Their integration into the Alliance forces is driven by the need to combat the Forsaken threat that plagues their homeland.

Starting Zone: Worgens get a unique starting zone in Gilneas, covering the civil war and curse of the Worgen.

Classes: Death Knight, Druid, Hunter, Mage, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior

Racial Traits:

 Aberration: Increases your resistance to harmful Nature and Shadow effects.

 Darkflight: Activates your true form, increasing current movement speed by an additional 40% for 10 sec.

 Enable Worgen Altered Form: Enables Worgens to switch between human and Worgan forms.

 Flayer: Skinning skill increased by 15 and allows you to skin faster.

 Running Wild: Drop to all fours to run as fast as a wild animal.

 Two Forms: Turn into your currently inactive form.

 Viciousness: Increases critical strike chance by 1%.